18 Comments
Apr 29, 2020Liked by Michael & Melissa Wear

Caravaggio compels emotion... I think of the Uffizi's Medusa, which touches your soul with the depths of humanity's drama and trauma.

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2020Liked by Michael & Melissa Wear

I've been giving this a lot of thought and, excluding my own work (not because I'm arrogant about it, but because I tend to literally capture my own imagination in my work), I really like the work of Ray Spears (aka Ray Neutron) and this series especially, specifically the third frame. It really just captures the essence and artistry of black and white photography that captivates me so much and inspires me to keep doing what I do. https://www.instagram.com/p/B5tqsfVBxcC/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2020Liked by Michael & Melissa Wear

LOVE Caravaggio!!! Favorite of all time --The Incredulity of Saint Thomas by Caravaggio. I relate --feel something of his doubt and the kindness of Jesus all at the same time.

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2020Liked by Michael & Melissa Wear

Roll Call by Elizabeth Thompson recently after hearing the backstory on Revisionist History, and then Impression, Sunrise by Monet for the misty, cloudy stillness and brightening activity. Finally, Undergrowth with Two Figures is a special one that reminds my husband and me about our honeymoon walking through the woods of Michigan’s upper peninsula.

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2020Liked by Michael & Melissa Wear

First that comes to mind is Chagall’s America Windows

Expand full comment
Apr 27, 2020Liked by Michael & Melissa Wear

I was going to say Boulevard des Capucines by Monet because I love all things Monet and that's my favorite of his. But then I remembered Wanderer above the Sea of Fog by Caspar David Friedrich, which has always enraptured me. One of my favorite places to be is above the sea of fog after hiking to a peak.

Expand full comment
author

Here's my favorite painting: https://www.nga.gov/collection/art-object-page.433.html

It's by Fra Filippo Lippi from the 1440s. I think he was more talented than any other artist at that exact time, and I think he paints with a light and ethereal/gauzy gaze. I took a few art classes and this was the first painting that ever took my breath away on a screen, and it was even more spectacular in person. It's at the NGA in DC. His most famous painting is at the Uffizi, but I think this one is even better. It's such an affectionate portrayal of Mary and Jesus.

--Melissa

Expand full comment