41 Comments
author

Don't underestimate how powerful it is for Americans to hear Biden acknowledge the rising cost of specific goods. I know I personally felt seen by the reference to the cost of cars.

Expand full comment
author

Here we go!

Expand full comment
author

Really wonderful to watch this with you all tonight!

Expand full comment
author

"I believe in recovery." Great line.

Expand full comment
author

Wow this jobs section is really strong

Expand full comment
author

Yes, Biden should camp out here on the infrastructure bill for a little bit

Expand full comment
author

Biden forceful so far, but at a fairly high level. I hope he takes this down and communicates directly to the American people on Ukraine here as well.

Expand full comment
author
Mar 2, 2022·edited Mar 2, 2022Author

So, I'll say that my expectation going in is that this is a turning point for the Biden Administration. I think the circumstances basically allow for President Biden to focus on areas where he's comfortable and confident: foreign policy and the global coalition he's built in response to Russia's attack on Ukraine, the infrastructure bill, American values and unity, etc. I expect we'll see Biden's approval rating to reach the high 40s-mid 50s following in the coming weeks. I'm looking to see Mike Donilon's influence on this speech, a clear moral voice that was strong during the campaign, shining through in arguably Biden's most significant speech of his presidency.

-Michael

Expand full comment
Mar 2, 2022Liked by Michael & Melissa Wear

I'd love to see him acknowledge that this isn't uniform Russia - that Russian people are protesting what Putin is doing and being jailed by the 100s.

Expand full comment
author

Biden has a better rhythm than I thought he'd be able to get in this speech. Really good momentum rhetorically here.

Expand full comment
author

I think the dig against the Trump tax cuts came too soon after the section on Ukraine

Expand full comment
author

Opening with Ukraine, and the weight and force here will carry through for the rest of the speech.

Expand full comment
Mar 2, 2022·edited Mar 2, 2022Liked by Michael & Melissa Wear

I'd love to see that we are willing to do more than send bullets if necessary.

I'd love to see him highlight what Putin is doing to the Russian people as well as the Ukrainian.

I'd love to see the bravery of the Ukrainian president and people praised, highlighting how we as Americans can learn from the level to which they are taking ownership of the responsibility of citizenship and the flourishing of their land.

I'd love to see an endorsement for "Wear is the Love" and that Joe and Jill listen to each episode and have whatever Melissa has as they do.

Expand full comment
Mar 2, 2022Liked by Michael & Melissa Wear

Can we go back at some point to the resolution to only defend NATO countries? What's the strategy here? (This belies my foreign policy ignorance)

Expand full comment
author

Share your response/reactions to the President's address, and we may share your comments in the newsletter

Expand full comment
author

I may write a piece, but I'll say I thought Biden's speech was sufficient. I do think they viewed it as a way to set the stage for action this year, but I think they should have stripped it down and went big rhetorically...Ukraine/Russia, COVID, Infrastructure, and then maybe just a few big ticket items for focus moving forward. Still...he was strong, assertive, and I do think he probably shored up some support among Democrats and some independents.

Expand full comment
author

Sorry, maybe I'm wrong, but I just do not recall individual Democrats yelling at Trump during his State of the Union. But Obama dealt with it. Biden's dealing with it.

Expand full comment
author

Interesting to follow his line on abortion and line on the Equality Act directly with acknowledgment of serious disagreements in this country.

Expand full comment
author

This extended focus on crime/law enforcement is interesting. "We should all agree the answer is not to defund the police, but to fund the police."

Expand full comment
author

Biden is just plowing through this list of Democratic policy priorities (most of which have no chance of passing this session...or next, probably)

Expand full comment
author

Biden's always been right here rhetorically re: taxes. It's not about antagonism. It's not about not wanting people to have money. It's about fairness. No antipathy, just common sense.

Expand full comment
author

"Two of the hardest years this nation has ever faced" -Biden, referring to 2020 and 2021

Expand full comment
author

First critical defensive section in Biden's speech tonight as he addresses gas prices, and announces proactive action to address the issue.

Expand full comment